Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition

The Australian National University is delighted to present the Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition to be awarded in 2017 at the School of Music, 21-22 September.

In addition to a prize-pool of $20,000, the supporting endowment generously donated by Ms Christine Roach also makes provision for the ANU School of Music to invite a musician or musicians of international acclaim to visit the university in the week of the competition each year. The musician/s will contribute to the educational and outreach programmes of the School as well as act as competition judges.

The School of Music is proud to welcome violinist Graeme Jennings (member of Australia’s internationally acclaimed new music ensemble ELISION and Senior Lecturer in Violin and Viola at Griffith University) and Michael Kieran Harvey (Multi-award winning Australian concert pianist and composer) for the Competition, as both guest artists and adjudicators.

How to apply

Applications open 14 July to 26 August


Past recipients

2016 - Third Prize - Mia Huang

2016 - First Prize & People's Choice - Callum Henshaw

2016 - Second Prize - Hamish Strathdee

2015 - People's Choice - Aaron Chew

2015 - First Prize - Andrew Blanch

2015 - Second Prize - Kyle Daniel

2015 - Third Prize - Aaron Chew

Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition



Domestic deadline

26 August 2017

Int'l deadline

26 August 2017


School of Music
+61 2 6125 5700

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer