Canberra Youth Orchestra Icons 4: Brahms

Date & time

7.30–9pm 4 December 2016


Llewellyn Hall, ANU School of Music


Adult $25, Concession $15


Further demonstrating the strength of Youth Music in Canberra, this program features a concerto performed by another winner of CYO’s 2016 Concerto Competition.

The Llewellyn series culminates with one of the masterpieces of the Romantic period: Brahms’ Symphony No. 1 in C Minor. Displaying the clear influence of Beethoven and simultaneously feeling a burning need to live up to such great legacy, Brahms shapes this exquisite work in typical symphonic form, utilising expressive soloistic and sectional writing to explore intricate textures and colours throughout the piece. Forming an exuberant close to the year, there is none other such piece to highlight the strength of a Romantic and iconic concert series.

Featuring as a soloist one of the winners of the CYO Concerto Competition 2016, TBC
Symphony No. 1 – Brahms

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer