Schutz's Christmas Story presented by Canberra Choral Society

Date & time

7.30–9.45pm 3 December 2016


Llewellyn Hall, ANU School of Music


Adult $55, Pensioner $40



SCHNITTKE Sonata for violin and chamber orchestra 
SCHUBERT 5 Minuets and 6 Trios, D.89 
BEETHOVEN (arr. strings) String Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op.131


Lorenza Borrani Director and Violin

The ACO's 2016 journey through the late quartets of Ludwig van Beethoven culminates with a presentation of the composer's own favourite, String Quartet Op.131, the epitome of his later style: expansive, visceral, and utterly affecting. Wagner said that "it floats over the sorrows of the world".

This achingly perfect magnum opus is preceded by pithy yet beguiling pieces from Schubert, and the exploratory music of Russian composer Alfred Schnittke. His Sonata for violin and chamber orchestra was admired by ACO's friend Alex Ross in The Rest is Noise as "rhythmically wry, engaging.....and positively danceable".

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer