Canberra Symphony Orchestra LS14.2 Mahler

Date & time

7.30pm 7 May 2014
7.30pm 8 May 2014


Llewellyn Hall, ANU


Tickets available from or phone 1300 795 012


One of Australia's most distinguished pianists, Clemens Leske, joins the CSO and Nicholas Milton for the second concert of the Llewellyn series.  With its slow movement inspired by the Green legen of "Orpheus and Eurydice", Beethoven's Fourth Piano concerto is one of the most profoundly poetic piano concertos of the repertoire.

Mahler 1 is a renowned, sublimely moving masterwork that redefined popular understanding of what a wymphony could be.  the entire gamut of orchestral possibilities are explored in the unfolding drama of this piece, which, traverses the depths of human experience and ultimately triumphs magnificently.

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer