The ANU School of Music has long been one of Australia's most well respected centres for jazz education. Our students study improvisation, arranging, composition, jazz theory and aural skills, and have access to exciting workshops year round. Jazz students have the opportunity to perform in both large and small ensembles, including the Jazz Collective (a reading/recording ensemble for composers) and the ANU Jazz Ensemble (a group dedicated to a diverse repertoire across jazz idioms). These student ensembles are directed by some of Australia’s most outstanding jazz musicians.

Mr John Mackey is an established and well-respected saxophonist and educator who initially trained in Perth and has performed with BB King, Ray Charles, Johnny Griffin, Lee Konitz, Jim McNeely, Kenny Werner, Al Cohn, Mike Nock, Nat Adderley, Roy Hargrove, George Shearing and many more.

Dr Alexander Hunter is a jazz double bassist originally from Chicago, and studied with Marlene Rosenberg (pupil of Ron Carter and John Clayton). Hunter lived in Scotland for eight years working as a session musician and recording and touring with the country’s top folk and jazz musicians.

Mr Miroslav Bukovsky is a composer and trumpet player who has been setting trends in Australian jazz since the 1970s. Miroslav was instrumental in forming Ten Part Invention with John Pochee and Roger Frampton in 1986 and is still active as a composer and a player in this band. He formed Wanderlust in 1991. In 1999 he joined the Jazz faculty at ANU School of Music where he has taught trumpet, composition, arranging, and improvisation.

Mr Steve Barry is a pianist currently based in Sydney, where he is completing a PhD. Barry's performance credits include John Hollenbeck (USA), Theo Bleckmann (USA), George Coleman Jr. (USA), Chris McNulty (USA), Arun Luthra (USA), Yoshio Suzuki (JPN), Tricia Evy (FRA), The Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra, Dale Barlow, Jamie Oehlers, Sean Wayland, James Muller, Andrew Dickeson and Andrew Gander. He has performed across Australia and New Zealand as well as in the United States, Japan, France, Italy, Samoa and New Caledonia.

Mr Mark Sutton is a drummer and producer based in Canberra. A graduate of the school, Sutton has performed with Mike Nock, Bernie McGann, Dale Barlow, Sean Wayland, James Muller, Matt MacMahon, Idea of North, Brendan Clarke, Alana Stone, Eamon McNelis, Andrew Robson, Ben Hauptmann, Julian Lee, George Golla, Craig Scott, Jan Rutherford and Jackie Orzasky, Fiona Burnett, Jonathan Schwartz, Vince Jones, Grace Knight and Adrian Cunningham.

Mr Luke Sweeting is a pianist and composer currently based in Sydney. A graduate of the School, Sweeting has toured Australia with Svelia, The Grey Wing Trio and Australia and New Zealand with a Kiwi/Aussie collaborative named Antipodes. A seasoned composer, Sweeting has had special collaborative performances in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Canberra, and has performed alongside various luminaries such as Gian Slater, Matt Keegan, Ronnie Ferella, Carl Mackey and Ben Vanderwal.


Dr Paul McMahon
Performance Convenor

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer