Musica Viva - Kelemen Quartet

Date & time

7pm 5 March 2014


Llewellyn Hall ANU School of Music


Bookings 1300 795 012 |

Event series


Combining youthful brilliance with the finest Hungarian tradition, the Kelemen Quartet’s energetic flair, fierce artistic commitment and striking charisma won it the Musica Viva Prize at the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition in 2011. Their debut national tour offers repertoire that suits them perfectly. The rich melodies of Tchaikovsky set off the more visceral beauty of Bartók – perhaps the greatest Hungarian composer, and one close to the Quartet’s hearts. The Kelemens have also been entrusted with a major task: bringing to life a new string quartet by the beloved Australian composer Ross Edwards. His ‘Summer Dances’ are a wonderful match for this young ensemble: a marvellously vivid and joyful beginning to the concert season, generously commissioned by Kim Williams AM

More info

Repertoire: Edwards, Bartok, Tchaikovsky

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer