Friends Ensemble Prizes

The Friends of the School of Music established its ensemble prizes to promote ensemble playing in the tertiary student cohort, in all musical genres taught at the ANU School of Music.
Prizes will be awarded in two categories for each Prize:

  • the Friends Chamber Music Prize
    (First Prize $1,000, People's Choice $500); and
  • the Friends Jazz and Contemporary Music Prize 
    (First Prize $1,000, People's Choice $500)


To be eligible for the prizes, each ensemble must include at least one member who is a current tertiary ANU School of Music student. All other members of eligible ensembles must be current students of  ANU or the Open School of Music.

Ensembles may include duos provided there is no piano accompaniment involved; works for two pianos and / or four hands will be counted as ensembles rather than accompaniment.

Students are permitted to appear in more than one ensemble.

How to apply

To enter, email by the 12 May 2017, providing your name and ID number, ensemble members and instruments, and the category you are entering. Only one entry is required per ensemble, and a primary contact (a School of Music student) is to be listed.


Past recipients

2017 - Jazz & Contemporary Ensemble First Prize and People's Choice: Sixth Dimension

2017 - Chamber Music First Prize and People's Choice: Katrina Tang, Hanul Lee (piano)

2016 - Chamber Music People's Choice: Hayley Manning, Clara Barrs, Lauren Giddy, 'Rach in Black'

2016 - Jazz & Contemporary Ensemble First Prize: Brendan Keller-Tuberg, Jamal Salem and Ben Forte

2016 - Jazz & Contemporary Ensemble People's Choice: Brendan Keller-Tuberg, Jamal Salem and Ben Forte

2016 - Chamber Music First Prize: Emma-Shay Gallenti-Guilfoyle, Hamish Strathdee, 'Classical Guitar Duo'

2015 - Jazz/Contemporary People’s Choice - Hugo Lee Band

2015 - Jazz/Contemporary Award - 1st Prize - Hugo Lee Band

2015 - Chamber Music People’s Choice - Wattle Guitar Quartet

2015 - Chamber Music Award: - 1st Place - Andrew Blanch and Callum Henshaw

2014 - 1st: ANU Improvisation Ensemble: Laura Ingram, Millie Watson, Chloe Hobbs, Brendan Keller-Tuberg, Benjamin Drury

2014 - People's Choice: Hayden Fritzlaff, Stephen Read, Brendan Keller-Tuberg

2013 - 1st - Wattle Guitar Quartet: Cassandra Low, Jeffrey Cheah, Jesse Flowers & Hamish Strathdale

2013 - 2nd - Childers St Quartet: Tobias Chisnall, Estelita Rae, Jane Cameron & Julia Janiszewski

2012 - 1st - Kinga Janiszewski, Rohan Dasika, Christopher Bainbridge & Joshua Holt

2012 - 2nd & People's Choice - Telopa Trio: Emily Buckley, Alys Ranyer & Emma Rayner

2011 - 1st: Lucia Gonzalez, Alexina Hakwins & Melina Van Leuwen

2011 - 2nd: Christina Hopgood, Jonathan Griffiths, Veronica Walshaw, Yvonne Lam, Bryce Leske & Aidan Lowe

2011 - People's Choice: Andrew Rumsey, Hayley Bullock & James Larsen




Value decided annually.


12 May 2017


School of Music
+61 2 6125 5700

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer