Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition

The Australian National University is delighted to present the Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition to be awarded in 2017 at the School of Music, 21-22 September.

In addition to a prize-pool of $20,000, the supporting endowment generously donated by Ms Christine Roach also makes provision for the ANU School of Music to invite a musician or musicians of international acclaim to visit the university in the week of the competition each year. The musician/s will contribute to the educational and outreach programmes of the School as well as act as competition judges.

We are proud to welcome Graeme Jennings and Michael Harvey for the Competition, as both guest artists and adjudicators.

How to apply

Applications open 14 July to 26 August


Past recipients

2016 - Second Prize - Hamish Strathdee

2016 - Third Prize - Mia Huang

2016 - First Prize & People's Choice - Callum Henshaw

2015 - Third Prize - Aaron Chew

2015 - People's Choice - Aaron Chew

2015 - First Prize - Andrew Blanch

2015 - Second Prize - Kyle Daniel

Whitworth Roach Classical Music Performance Competition



Domestic deadline

26 August 2017

Int'l deadline

26 August 2017


School of Music
+61 2 6125 5700

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer