Margaret Smiles Accompaniment Prize

The Margaret Smiles Accompaniment Prize, established almost 20 years ago, encourages the art of accompaniment at the ANU School of Music. This annual award is in memory of Margaret Smiles, honouring her dedication and contribution to Canberra’s musical life, in particular the School of Music Community Choir, now known as the Llewellyn Choir. Margaret was the choir’s accompanist for many years, sharing her love and joy for music with its members. She is remembered for her passion, focus and commitment to nurturing singers, revelling in the vast-ranging repertoire of the choir.

Margaret was an accomplished pianist, studying piano with Ken Hastings, Alan Jenkins and then John Luxton at the School of Music. She accompanied and coached many of Canberra’s leading performers and students in a wide range of concerts. The Margaret Smiles Accompaniment Prize, encouraging the next generation of accompanists, is a fitting tribute to her memory.

How to apply

To be considered for award, the applicant must enter the Margaret Smiles Accompaniment Prize. Entries open in September each year, and information on how to enter will be available on the School of Music website. Apply here.

Past recipients

2016 - Mia Huang

2015 - Aaron Chew

2014 - Anne Ewing

2013 - Aaron Chew

2012 - Lucus Allerton

2011 - Ella Luhtasaari

2010 - Ella Luhtasaari, Andrew Rumsey & Lucus Allerton



Domestic deadline

12 October 2017

Int'l deadline

12 October 2016


School of Music
+61 2 6125 5700

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer