Canberra Symphony Orchestra - Llewellyn Series/02 Tchaikovsky

Date & time

7.30pm 6 May 2015
7.30pm 7 May 2015


Llewellyn Hall ANU


Tickets available from or phone 1300 795 012



TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1


Nicholas Milton Conductor

Hoang Pham Piano

With the aptly titled Boom Box - a vibrant and facinating work featuring the percussion section of the orchestra - the second Llewellyn concert opens a door into the unique sonic imagination of Matthew Hindson whose driving repeated rhythms and dynamic energy invigorate and revitalise audiences.

No piano concerto of the repertoire is as well know or as popular as Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 and to perform it the CSO welcomes the remarkable Hoang Pham, winner of Australia's 2013 Young Performer of the Year Award.  This demanding concerto's virtuosity and soulful intensity, as well as thundering octave passages, constitute one of the most profound challenges for performers - and Hoang's is sure to be a memorable rendition.

The evening concludes with Rimsky-Korsakov's dazzling portrayal of the lengdary story of Scheherazade.

Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm, door 6, ground floor Llewellyn Hall

Duration 80 minutes, plus interval

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer