Information for competitors


The Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities, aged between 18 and 31 years (born between 1 January 1983 and 31 December 1996). Recipients of the first, second or third prize of the previous Competition in 2011 are not eligible to enter.


The jury will be chaired by Emeritus Professor Larry Sitsky AM (ANU School of Music, Canberra). The jury will also include:

  • international guest adjudicator Professor Wojciech Świtała (Academy of Music, Katowice, Poland)
  • Ms Shan Deng, University of Tasmania
  • Ms Natasha Vlassenko, Griffith University
  • Mr Maciej Pawela, ANU School of Music

Travel and Accommodation

International competitors living outside of Australia will be eligible to have their travel to Canberra reimbursed by ANU School of Music after arrival, to a maximum of AUD1000. International competitors are responsible for obtaining their own passports and visa documents.

Competitors will be billeted in the community, facilitated by the Friends of Chopin Australia.

Practice Facilities

Practice facilities will be provided by the ANU School of Music.​

For further enquires please contact:

Updated:  12 June 2013/Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Music/Page Contact:  Development Officer